Saturday, 10 November 2007

Joji Yuasa - Aoi no Ue (Obscure Tape Music of Japan I)
(Japan, 2004)

Limited to 500 copies.

1. Aoi no Ue (1961)
2. My Blue Sky No. 1 (1975)

"Aoi no Ue" is based on "Genji Monogatari" ("The Tale of Genji"), written by a Japanese noblewoman named Murasaki Shikibu in the early 11th century and believed by some scholars to be the first novel ever. On a sidenote, the story has been illustrated by most brilliant Yoshitaka Amano who provided the artwork for Mamoru Oshii's "Tenshi no Tamago" (which is recommendable to anyone interested in surrealistic and progressive animation).

Also, the third installment of the "Obscure Tape Music of Japan" series is available over at Different Waters.


davemustang.... said...


I'm getting short on adjectives...I am way behind in listening, way down in external hard drive space (well someday), and way up in amazingly incredibly awesome downloads.



Anonymous said...